Blog

Wasted time! – The Meeting Mania

by Andreas Kabisch on 5. June 2016

The number and duration of meetings is a crucial issue in many companies. Bain & Company recently found that employees in US companies are in meetings for 21 of their 40 hours per week – at least 8 of which were completely unnecessary. We believe that this rate is matched or even exceeded in Germany. The impact on productivity is disastrous for all concerned. Ultimately, the work must be done outside of the meeting! There’s also an important psychological effect: Meetings are one of the key factors that demotivate staff.

We experience first-hand with our customers how frustrating such multi-meeting cultures are for participants – from junior staff to top managers. And we understand that it’s not easy to depart from such a system – otherwise it would happen much sooner, more often, and more drastically. But why can’t this meeting mania simply be stopped or abolished?

It’s partly due to an overpowering need for consensus. If the objective of the decision-making process is to include everyone affected, involved or interested, then there will always be someone who still needs to be asked, informed, or integrated. There’s always someone missing! The result: Adjournment to the next meeting. And on it goes.

Another factor driving up the number of meetings is the lack of clear allocation of responsibility. If this is located at the “top” of the hierarchy, then each decision step will entail an intensive and extensive chain of preparation. It becomes catastrophic when the final decision makers are no longer the specialists who prepared the decision, who can evaluate the content, and are ultimately responsible for its implementation. This greatly weakens the operative acceptance of decisions, slows down the decision-making process, and minimizes the employees’ sense of responsibility.

An online article in the German “Manager Magazin” – “How top managers conduct meetings” – describes how famous US business leaders ensure efficiency in their meetings. Some of these stories illustrate the experiences that we share with our customers when they want to design efficient meeting structures or improve the effectiveness of their meetings.

Facebook executive Sheryl Sandberg always takes her ring binder to meetings, with a prepared list of important points to go over. The signal: Each participant is versed with the content and topics of the meeting, and what the objective must be. The late Apple CEO Steve Jobs made sure that no unnecessary participants were invited to meetings. The signal: Attendance only by those required for the matter at hand. It’s not about who happens to have time or would like to have a say. Google’s Larry Page established a system where a decision-maker is chosen for each meeting. And, as a basic principle, decisions don’t need to wait until a meeting is scheduled. The signal: decision-making responsibility does not require meetings, but rather people who can take and exercise this responsibility. This means that decisions are made quickly, but may also be wrong.

Finally, Amazon’s Jeff Bezos, who apparently does not accept any paper or digital submissions during meetings. Such information is required in advance; the meeting is a space for questions and discussion. The signal: no time wasted on supervised reading sessions; the relevant information is sent in advance for individual preparation.

What are your experiences?

Share this post:
Andreas KabischWasted time! – The Meeting Mania

Join the conversation

Blog

Vergeudete Zeit! – die Meeting-Mania

by Andreas Kabisch on 19. Oktober 2015

Ein kritischer Punkt in vielen Unternehmen sind Anzahl und Dauer von Meetings: das Beratungshaus Bain&Company hat jüngst ermittelt, dass Mitarbeiter in US-Unternehmen 21 von 40 Wochenstunden in Meetings verbringen – und mindestens 8 dieser Stunden komplett überflüssig seien. Unsre Hypothese ist, dass diese Quote in Deutschland ebenfalls erreicht oder gar überschritten wird. Die Auswirkungen auf die Produktivität der Beteiligten sind fatal. Die Arbeit wird schließlich außerhalb der Meetings erledigt! Wichtig ist auch ein psychologischer Effekt: Besprechungen zählen zu den Hauptfaktoren von Demotivation.

Wir erleben bei unseren Kunden, wie frustrierend solche Multi-Meeting-Mechaniken für die Teilnehmenden sind, egal ob es Mitarbeiter oder Top-Manager sind. Und wir verstehen, dass es nicht einfach ist, aus einer solchen Mechanik auszusteigen – sonst würde das viel früher, häufiger, radikaler passieren. Aber was sind die Ursachen dafür, dass die Meeting-Mania nicht einfach abgeschafft oder untersagt werden kann?

Ein Grund liegt in einem überbordenden Konsensbedürfnis. Wenn Ziel eines Entscheidungsprozesses ist, dass jeder und jede irgendwie Betroffene, Beteiligte oder Interessierte einbezogen worden ist, dann muss immer noch jemand befragt, informiert, integriert werden. Irgendwer fehlt immer! Konsequenz: Vertagung auf den nächsten Termin. Und so fort.

Ein weiterer Antrieb für Besprechungsvielfalt ist fehlende oder unklare Verantwortungszuordnung. Wo sie hierarchisch „oben“ angesiedelt ist, braucht jeder Entscheidungsschritt eine intensive und extensive Vorbereitungskaskade. Fatal, dass diejenigen, die letztlich entscheiden müssen, nicht mehr diejenigen sind, die die Entscheidung fachlich ausgearbeitet haben, inhaltlich bewerten können oder gar umsetzen müssen. Was die operative Akzeptanz von Entscheidungen stark schwächt, die Entscheidungsgeschwindigkeit erlahmen lässt und die Verantwortungsbereitschaft von Mitarbeitern minimiert.

Das Manager-Magazin beschreibt in dem Online-Artikel „Wie Topmanager Meetings führen“, wie berühmte US-Wirtschaftsgrößen Effizienz in ihren Meetings erreichen. Einige der Geschichten illustrieren Erfahrungen, die wir teilen, wann immer unsere Kunden ihre Meeting-Struktur effizient gestalten oder eine Steigerung der Wirksamkeit ihrer Meetings erreichen möchten.

Facebook-Chefin Sheryl Sandberg habe immer ihr Ringbuch dabei, in dem sie ihre wichtigen Punkte vorab aufliste und dann im Meeting abarbeite. Signal: jeder Teilnehmende kommt inhaltlich vor-bereitet ins Meeting und weiß vorab, welches die Themen sind und was das Ziel sein muss. Beim verstorbenen Apple-Chef Steve Jobs sei nie jemand im Meeting dabei gewesen, der nicht erforderlich war. Signal: nur wer für das Thema erforderlich ist, ist anwesend. Es geht nicht darum, wer gerade Zeit hat oder gerne mitreden würde. Googles Larry Page habe eingeführt, dass für jedes Meeting ein Entscheider bestimmt wird. Und dass grundsätzlich Entscheidungen nicht warten sollten, bis dafür ein Meeting anberaumt ist. Signal: Entscheidungsverantwortung braucht keine Meetings, sondern Personen, die sie nehmen und ausüben. Was bedeutet, dass Entscheidungen schnell gefällt werden, aber auch falsch sein dürfen.

Schließlich Amazon und Jeff Bezos, von dem es heißt, er akzeptiere keine Papier- oder digitale Vorlagen in Meetings. Die Informationen hätten vorab zu erfolgen, im Meeting sei Platz für Fragen und Diskussion. Signal: kein betreutes Vorlesen als Zeitvergeuder, sondern Vorab-Versendung der themenrelevanten Informationen und individuelle Vorbereitung.

Welche Erfahrungen machen Sie?

Share this post:
Andreas KabischVergeudete Zeit! – die Meeting-Mania

Join the conversation